Constitution Act of Finland 1919

With the Constitution Act of 1919, the first Constitution of an independent Finland, the nation elected to be governed as a republic. Finland’s republican system of government and the foundations of Finnish democracy were recorded in the Constitution Act.

This commemorative coin pays tribute to the Finnish Constitution Act of 1919. The basic tenets of the Finnish Constitution Act of 1919 still form the foundation of Finland’s current constitution and its development during Finnish independence.

The design reflects the core tenets of the Constitution Act of 1919: representative democracy and the separation of powers into the legislative, executive and judiciary branches. In his universal, abstract expression, the designer has sought to capture the essence of democracy through the votes cast by citizens on the coin’s obverse, while the three partly fused circles on the reverse depict the separation of powers.

Available at The Mint Of Finland